A Letter To Those Who Wish To Forget Me

Dear You,
I hope this letter finds you well. In fact, I hope you’re doing so well that this may come as an unpleasant surprise. I know you wish you could forget about me, but I’m here to remind you of every single reason why you can’t.

It must be hard to forget me since every song on the radio reminds you of me.

It must be hard to forget me since you can’t bring yourself to burn all the letters I’ve ever written you.

It must be hard to forget me since you can still recognize my laugh from far away.

It must be hard to forget me since I still creep into your dreams.

It must be hard to forget me since all your favorite places hold a memory of me.

It must be hard to forget me since you spent so many nights tracing the outline of my face with your fingers.

It must be hard to forget me since sometimes, you could swear, my scent still lingers on your sheets.

It must be hard to forget me since, after all this time, you still feel like something is missing.

It must be hard to forget me since your guilt will never fully subside.

It must be hard to forget me since you still want to call me after you’ve had one too many drinks.

It must be hard to forget me since you still hear my name and wonder how I’ve been.

It must be hard to forget me since you know that it was real and you’ll never have that back.

It must be hard to forget me since, in reality, you don’t really want to forget at all.

You probably never will.

Sorry to burst your bubble, but I’ll always be here. You may hate me, curse me, resent me, mourn me, but at least you’ll never forget me. I know how hard it must be because these things keep happening to me too.

Always,
A memory ♡

Leave a Reply

